ASNT Standard Topical Outlines for Qualification of Nondestructive Testing Personnel (ANSI/ASNT CP The newly approved ANSI Standard, ANSI/ ASNT. Recommended Practice SNT-TC-1A and the. ASNT Standard for Qualification and Certification of Nondestructive Testing Personnel CP These documents . My recommendation to my clients is that they require NDT qualification and certification in accordance with ASNT CP or ASNT ACCP.

Author: Tatilar Kazragrel
Country: Zambia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Business
Published (Last): 11 February 2011
Pages: 293
PDF File Size: 2.45 Mb
ePub File Size: 18.52 Mb
ISBN: 941-4-98093-547-7
Downloads: 76623
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Moogulkis

The PdM certification and all of either have very few references and aent for this certification. Surely by virtue of demonstrating continuous performance by an internal or external means of assessment, automatically achieves traceability and quantification.

Certification in accordance with EN and ISO is differs from those previous by classification as central certification in a similar vein to college examination bodies. Dp supermoto Date As to where it is used, well that is dictated by client and contract specifications I would guess, but most likely boiler and pressure vessel type fabrications!

ANSI/ASNT CP-189 (2016), SNT-TC-1A (2016) Addendums Available

Oh btw, this is from the February issue of Quality Magazine: Is this a quantifiable value or a misnomer of accuracy? Michael Ruddy, Chair William C.

People who perform an audit of an NDE certification program are often not specialists in the field or are not thoroughly familiar with the original intent of the employer-based program. However, CP requires a certification procedure rather than a written practice. A brief list of some of the major differences below: Another difference is in the visual acuity exams: Level III examinations also require a procedure be prepared for the practical exam. I found through PdMprofessionals. Plumstead, Vice Chair George C.

When a company decides to follow CPthey must accept all the requirements of that standard, with little or no adjustment or leeway and the relevant training requirements! Qualification and certification of NDE personnel is a function of training, experience and examination and is based on the technology or test method.

By far the most important fundamental difference is in the concept that CP is a national standard and must be treated as a minimum requirement not simply a set of guidelines which may be altered The ASNT Recommended Practice is used in many industries, including oil and gas, transportation, power plants, construction, bridge fabrication, and bridge inspection. Best regards – Al.

Standard CP and related materials

I concur Al, Here’s an interesting synopsis covering both the guidelines and the standard: Powered by mwForum 2. Both exist as parallel programs available for a contractor to specify and a sub contractor to adopt. The intent was to produce a new document that provided strict requirements rather than simply guidelines. Written with the intent of becoming a national standard, CP offered an alternative to SNT-TC-1A with more rigid requirements, rather than guidelines.

In the early s, ASNT established a technical committee to set 198 guidelines for the qualification and certification of NDE testing personnel that employers could follow. So basically there’s no requirement from ASNT to use one system over the other because that decision is up to the contractor to make and the subcontractor to follow Again this is not a comprehensive list of the differences, but simply the “major” fundamental differences in the concepts CP Review Subcommittee This subcommittee of the SDC has the responsibility to review comments on and objections to CPand to submit proposed revisions to the full committee.

This is reflected throughout the 2 documents by c choice of verbs awnt The downside is that the employer-based program is often abused, resulting in a lower level of achievement than what the program asmt intended.

Levels of qualification – There are 5 levels of qualification instead of 3 the additional 2 being “Instructor” and “Trainee”. Harris Scott Miller Bruce D.

For an individual to become certified in multiple test methods, each method must be represented by method-specific training, experience and examinations.

Not logged in American Welding Society Forum.